Staying full until lunch

Standard

I was about to title this post “The secret to staying full until lunch” but after sharing yesterday’s secrets about the perfect chocolate chip cookies, I thought that may be a bit much! Since I’m a morning runner/workout-er, I’m always starving when breakfast time rolls around, and since I work in PR, I never quite know when I’ll have time to eat my next meal! Therefore, I don’t mess around with breakfast. I have three requirements: It has to be good, filling, and fast.

Cue oatmeal! I started eating it regularly about a year ago and now I can’t get enough of it. I eat it faithfully almost every morning, and I use some great add-ins to keep me full until lunchtime comes!

After a timed stablilty ball workout that challenged my core (and arms!) this morning, I was ready for a good meal. Since I pre-make my oats for the entire week, all I had to do was dish out one serving and add some protein power to keep me full!

Three-Minute Breakfast Oatmeal
Serves one

  • 1/2 c. quick oats (or 1/4 c. steel cut oats)
  • 1/4-1/3 c. milk (I prefer unsweetened vanilla almond)
  • 1/2 Tb. flaxmeal
  • Pinch of brown sugar and cinnamon
  • 1 Tb. nut butter (Natural peanut butter all the way, baby!)
  1. Mix the first four ingredients in a bowl and microwave for one minute and ten seconds.
  2. Stir in nut butter.
  3. Enjoy!

How to “level up” this recipe:

  1. Add some sliced fruit. I love chopped apples, but peaches, plums, or bananas (gag!) are also great options.
  2. Use steel cut oats instead of quick oats. Since they take a while to cook, I recommend that you cook them ahead of time and have them throughout the week. Here’s a great recipe for Steel Cut Oats from Live. Love. Nutrition.
  3. Use some additional add-ins such as chia seeds (a personal favorite!), flax seeds, chopped nuts, or pureed pumpkin. For more flavor, try a small amount of honey or maple syrup.

How to “level down” this recipe:

  1. Not ready for straight oats yet? Go ahead and use instant oatmeal, but try to opt for the sugar-free version if you can. (Trust me, it’s cheaper to just buy quick-cooking oats, though!)
  2. Add some sweeteners  Stir in raw sugar or chocolate chips for more taste. (Sometimes these are just a fun treat and a way to take the flavor up a level!)
4 thoughts on “Staying full until lunch

  1. Love these tips! I usually need two breakfasts…one at 7 a.m. BEFORE work and then one around 9:30 a.m. AT work 🙂 I’m not brave enough to try making my own oatmeal, so I stick to Trader Joe’s instant apple cinnamon…it’s pretty delicious, although I will admit, not 100 percent filling.

    • I used to need two breakfasts as well! I loved my instant apple cinnamon oatmeal until the day I finally took the chance and tried regular oatmeal with my own mix-in’s. Try it one day! I promise it’ll change your morning eating routine 🙂

Leave a Reply

