Lentil love

Vegetable lentil soup via Levels
Standard

I get really obsessed with foods. I go in phases where I’m obsessed with something and it’s all I want to eat, and then a few months later I’m over it. Currently, I’m obsessed with lentils, and with this vegetable lentil soup, I’m sure you will be too!

Vegetable lentil soup via Levels

Mmmm…the perfect soup for those cold (or sick!) days!

Vegetable Lentil Soup
Adapted from Cooking Light 

  • 1 1/2 tablespoons olive oil
  • 1 cup finely diced onion
  • 1/2 cup finely diced celery
  • 1/2 cup finely diced carrot
  • 6 cups chopped spinach (or equivalent frozen)
  • 1 cup chopped squash (I used green and yellow)
  • 2 tablespoons tomato paste
  • 1 teaspoon salt
  • 2 garlic cloves, minced
  • 4 cups water
  • 4 cups vegetable broth
  • 1 cup lentils
  • 1/2 Tb. black pepper
  • 1/2 Tb. basil
  • 1/2 teaspoon garlic salt
  1. Heat the olive oil in a stockpot over medium-high heat. Add the diced onion, celery, and carrots and saute for 10 minutes.
  2. Add the tomato paste, salt, and minced garlic; sauté 1 minute.
  3. Add 4 cups water and 4 cups vegetable broth and lentils; bring mixture to a boil. Partially cover, reduce heat, and simmer mixture for about 20 minutes.
  4. Stir in the chopped spinach and squash (and any other vegetables of choice).
  5. Season with salt, pepper, basil, and garlic salt.
  6. Heat until vegetables are soft. Serve!

I love this recipe because it’s easy to reheat or freeze for later and packs a lot of vegetables and protein through the lentils! You could also likely throw this all in your crockpot on low for a few hours — I haven’t tried it, but that would likely make it even easier!

How to “level up” this recipe:

  • As always, feel free to add more vegetables!
  • To add more flavor, add two bay leaves and some fresh parsley. I never have these items around, which is why I typically don’t include them.

How to “level down” this recipe:

  • I wouldn’t necessarily call this a level “down” but topping this recipe with parmesan cheese and my homemade croutons can really make it delicious!
Leave a Reply

