Kickin’ Monday’s butt with shrimp quinoa & a kick-butt hill interval

Standard

Like 90% of the other people in the world, Mondays aren’t always my favorite day. However, I got into work super early (I consider anything before 8 a.m. super early!), finished up a few ongoing work projects, had an awesome afternoon workout, and ended the evening with a shrimp quinoa creation. As far as Mondays go, this was a pretty good one!

Since I had to get into work early, I couldn’t fit in my typical Monday morning workout so it had to wait until the afternoon. As a committed morning runner, afternoons just aren’t the same. However, this Monday afternoon workout was pretty successful! I ran four flat miles at a 7:56 pace (pretty good after my two-week hiatus!) and then challenged myself with a hill interval workout. Here’s what my hill interval looked like:

My calves were burning! It was definitely a challenge and one I’m hoping to incorporate my workouts more often.

How to “level up” this workout:

  • Increase the amount of intervals you do. (I hope to work up to ten soon!)

How to “level down” this workout:

  • Increase your rest time to 15-30 seconds.

When I got home, I was starving! After enjoying some nuts to hold me over, I whipped up this lemon garlic shrimp quinoa. It was pretty easy and made enough for three servings — I know what I’ll be eating for lunch this week!

Lemon garlic shrimp quinoa
Serves 2-3

  • 15 small shrimp, thawed
  • 2/3 c. quinoa
  • 1/4 c. onion
  • 2 c. chopped vegetables (I used red pepper, asparagus, broccoli, edamame, and spinach.)
  • 1 Tb. lemon juice
  • 2 tsp. minced garlic
  • 1 Tb. olive oil
  • Salt & pepper to taste
  1. First, cook your quinoa using 2/3 c. quinoa and 1 1/3 c. water. Bring to a boil and then simmer until cooked.
  2. While quinoa is cooking, coat a skillet with your olive oil. Toss in your onion, chopped vegetables, and minced garlic. Begin to cook until desired tenderness.
  3. In a separate, smaller skillet, spray a light layer of cooking spray and place thawed shrimp in pan. Sprinkle some salt and pepper on top and cook until translucent (about 3-4 minutes).
  4. Once shrimp and quinoa are finished, pour both into pan with your vegetables.
  5. Toss with lemon juice and serve. (Top with some parmesan cheese!)

How to “level up” this recipe: 

  • Can’t say I have any suggestions! However, you could easily substitute cooked chicken breast strips for the shrimp if you’re not a seafood fan.

How to “level down” this recipe:

  • Not ready for quinoa? (You’re missing out!) Try a brown, multigrain, or white rice instead.
Leave a Reply

