I have a problem…

Standard

I have a problem. And that problem is that I’m constantly seeking out ways to stuff more vegetables into a meal. I could have bigger problems, right?!

Well considering Hurricane Sandy is about to hit the East Coast, I just might have bigger problems in the next few days (especially since everywhere around here is sold out of flashlights and I don’t have one!!)…

So while I still have power, I decided to get creative and feed my obsession with vegetables. The result was this deconstructed pita pizza I made for last night’s dinner…

(Sorry for the poor quality photo! I took it while I was at work. Trust me — this thing is delicious.)

Deconstructed pita pizza
Serves 1

  • 1 whole wheat pita, cut in half
  • 6 cherry tomatoes
  • 2 c. veggies (I used broccoli, asparagus, spinach, and onion)
  • 1/2 tsp. basil
  • 1/2  tsp. oregano
  • 2 Tb. pizza sauce
  • 1/4 c. reduced-fat mozzarella cheese
  1. Spray a pan with olive oil cooking spray and place chopped vegetables in pan. Cook until tender (about 4-6 minutes).
  2. With about one minute left to cook, add the basil, oregano, and pizza sauce to the vegetable mixture. Coat vegetables.
  3. Meanwhile, fill your pita halves with the mozzarella cheese, saving about one tablespoon. Fill pitas with vegetable sauce mix.
  4. Top with remaining cheese and serve.

How to “level up” this recipe:

  • Use more fresh tomatoes and leave out the sauce altogether.

How to “level down” this recipe:

  • Add some pepperoni or sausage to bulk it up a bit!
  • Not a whole wheat fan? Use a regular or multigrain pita instead.

I’m trying another new recipe tonight when we have dinner with some friends…if it’s a success, I’ll be sure to share! 🙂

Leave a Reply

