Surviving Sandy

Standard

If any of you readers are from the East Coast, I’m taking a good guess that you are also sitting in your house, praying the power doesn’t go out, and waiting out this hurricane we’ve dubbed “Frankenstorm.” Luckily, it’s still just pouring here and so I’ve been able to work from home all day…

Knowing that I’d be stuck inside for a few days, I woke up early this morning and completed this living room circuit workout from Peanut Butter Fingers. WOW. I was sore before I even finished, I think! I absolutely love an at-home workout that makes you feel like you’re really working up a sweat. I used to scoff at the idea of doing a 20-30 minute at home, but now that I don’t have such easy access to a gym and work long days, sometimes 20-30 minutes is all I have. I’ve been experimenting with various circuit workouts and have found that you can make some serious progress if you give your 100% during that short time. (Trust me, it’s much harder than zoning out with a magazine on an elliptical for 30 minutes at the gym!)

After my circuit workout this morning, a shower, and traditional bowl of oats, I set up shop in my living room so that I could work from home all day. Even with my kitchen only a few steps away, I’ve been sticking to my regular eating schedule and haven’t wandered in for snacks all day long. WIN. (Does anyone else have trouble staying out of their kitchen when they work from home?)

However, I did just finish this delicious concoction…

In the mix: 5 oz. vanilla greek yogurt, 1/2 honeycrisp apple, 2 tbls. whole wheat grape nuts, cinnamon, and raisins. Mmmm!

Now, the real reason I’ve had to stay out of my kitchen all day is because of these little gems…

I whipped these up on Saturday night because we were having friends over and I didn’t have anything for dessert. I am SO glad I did because they are amazing (and healthy, too!). They’ve stayed incredibly soft, which is just how I like my cookies, too!

Whole Wheat Oatmeal Cookies 
Makes about 14-16 cookies (double for more)

  • 1/2 c. whole wheat flour
  • 1/2 tsp. baking powder
  • 1/4 tsp. baking soda
  • 1/4 tsp. salt
  • 1/4 c. unsweetened applesauce
  • 1/4 c. brown sugar
  • 1 egg
  • 1/2 tsp. vanilla
  • 1/2 banana, mashed (optional)
  • 3/4 c. quick oats
  • Mini chocolate chips
  1. Preheat oven to 375.
  2. Add flour, baking powder, baking soda, and salt in a bowl. Mix well.
  3. In another large bowl, mix applesauce, sugar, egg, vanilla, and mashed banana. Mix until well blended.
  4. Slowly add the dry ingredients and blend.
  5. Finally, add the quick oats and mini chocolate chips.
  6. Scoop dough (I used a small cookie scoop) onto ungreased cookie sheets. Bake for about ten minutes, until toothpick comes out clean.

How to “level up” this recipe:

  • You could completely cut the brown sugar and add honey instead. However, I think this will change the consistency of your batter, so plan to add more flour or oats accordingly.
  • Substitute the chocolate chips with raisins or another dried fruit.
  • For some added protein, throw in 2 tablespoons of nut butter. (I made half of my batch with almond butter, and they were great!)

How to “level down” this recipe:

  • Use all-purpose white flour instead of wheat.
  • Leave out the banana and add 1/4 c. of raw (or granulated) sugar instead. The taste of banana isn’t overpowering, but it’s definitely there, so if you’re not a fan of banana, leave it out altogether.

Leave a comment