A pretty sweet sweet potato recipe

Standard

Sometime last week, I got a hankering (yes, hankering) for sweet potatoes. I’ve never really been a big fan of sweet potatoes (especially when they’re smothered in cinnamon and marshmallows — too sugary for my liking!), but after researching their health benefits and finding some pretty interesting sweet potato recipes, I wanted to give them a shot.

So I ran to the grocery store, picked up a sweet potato, and decided to make some healthy, homemade sweet potato fries. I’ve made homemade fries with regular potatoes before, so I figured it couldn’t be all that different. Luckily, I was right!

Here’s a super simple sweet potato fry recipe that complements any meal perfectly! (I enjoyed mine with my lemon garlic shrimp vegetable quinoa & a side salad.)

Super simple sweet potato fries 
Serves 2

  • 1 large sweet potato, cleaned and cut into wedges
  • 1 Tbsp. olive oil
  • 1/2 Tbsp. chili powder
  • 1/2 Tbsp. garlic powder
  • Salt & pepper
  • Olive oil spray
  1. Preheat oven to 450. Grease a baking sheet and set aside.
  2. In a large bowl, combine sweet potato wedges, olive oil, chili powder, and garlic powder. Mix until potatoes are coated.
  3. Transfer to greased baking sheet and sprinkle salt and pepper to taste on top. Lightly spray tops with olive oil cooking spray.
  4. Bake 20-25 minutes, flipping about halfway through.

How to “level up” this recipe:

  • Play with your spices to level up the flavor! I am hoping to try some Old Bay for some added kick. Sounds delicious!

How to “level down” this recipe:

  • Not a fan of sweet potatoes? Follow the same recipe, substituting a regular russet potato for the sweet potato.
Leave a Reply

