A candy-less Halloween & a new three-minute rule

Standard

I’m happy to report that I didn’t eat a single piece of candy yesterday. Nope, not one.

However, I did eat A LOT of pumpkin chocolate chip bread that I whipped up after work yesterday (it’s so addicting!) and my $2 Chipotle boorito. I was even able to put together a last minute costume! Just call me the happy housewife 🙂

How did you do this Halloween? Were you able to resist tasty chocolate treats? I love this graphic from Undressed Skeleton that shows just how many calories are in a fun sized candy bar!

In other news, I hit the gym this morning for an early morning workout. I spent 30 minutes on the elliptical followed by a KILLER arm workout (Bosu ball push-ups get me everytime!).

I love the gym, but sometimes I feel like I go and leave without really challenging myself. Therefore, I’ve tried to end each gym session this week with a super-short, super-intense burst of exercise. Earlier this week, I did 20 jumping squats with a medicine ball, followed by 30 high knees (three times total, no rest in between). Today, I did 15 Bosu ball crunches with a medicine ball, followed by 30 high knees (three times total, no rest in between.) I’ve found that this is a great way to challenge myself and leave the gym feeling great!

I call it my new three-minute rule — can’t leave the gym until I’ve done my super intense three-minutes of exercise!

How are you challenging yourself this week?

Leave a Reply

