Fit Friday Finds: 11.9.12

Standard

This week, I have two fun Fit Friday Finds for you! One is just a new food obsession of mine (super easy to recreate!), and the other is a fun new blog I stumbled upon this week.

First up, balsamic apple salad!

I love eating healthy, but I’m not a big homemade salad person. However, lately I’ve been eating salads like crazy, and I think it’s because of two reasons — romaine lettuce and delicious add-in’s! The romaine lettuce makes the salad crisp and fresh more so than spinach or spring greens, and additional toppings, like onion, cucumber, apples, and walnuts help give it some staying power and flavor. Here’s what I have been putting in mine:

  • 2 cups of chopped romaine lettuce
  • Onion
  • Cucumber
  • Half of a medium honeycrisp apple, chopped
  • Sliced walnuts
  • Raisins
  • Parmesan cheese
  • Low-fat balsamic vinaigrette dressing
  • Grilled chicken (optional)

It’s easy to transport and stays fresh all day. (I’m always eating on the go, hence the continuous food photos in plastic containers!)

And, now for my second Fit Friday Find: Peace, Love, & Oats! I mentioned this blog yesterday when I wrote about my awesome HIIT treadmill workout, and I’ve been loving all of the great recipes and workouts her blog offers. Best of all, there are a TON of great oatmeal recipes, so how could you NOT love it?! Check it out…

2 thoughts on “Fit Friday Finds: 11.9.12

    • Hi Caitlyn! My favorite is actually Trader Joe’s Fat Free Balsamic Vinegrette. There are some fat-free balsamics that just aren’t great, but TJ’s is awesome! I also use Ken’s low-fat balsamic dressing if I’m not able to get to Trader Joe’s. I definitely recommend either one!

Leave a Reply

