Peanut butter banana bread bowl

Standard

Is there anything better than a warm piece of banana bread topped with peanut butter? Before this morning, I would have said no. But, then I discovered this…

When you can combine banana bread, peanut butter, AND oats, you know you’ve got something good. After waking up at 8 a.m. and immediately cleaning my entire apartment for an hour (no idea why), I was pretty hungry come 9:15 and I wanted something warm and filling since I was heading out for a run later.

And, I don’t know what the weather is like where you are, but we are having absolutely AMAZING weather here today! It’s currently 65 degrees and sunny, which made for a perfect run. I wanted to just get out and get in some mileage while enjoying the day, and ended up completing 8 miles in just over an hour and two minutes — win!

Maybe my successful run had to do with my breakfast? If so, it’d be selfish not to share the recipe. Here you go!

Peanut butter banana bread bowl
Serves 1

  • 1/4 cup of cooked steel cut oats (or 1/2 cup of quick cooking oatmeal, uncooked)
  • 1 Tbsp. flaxmeal (ground flax seed)
  • 1/3 c. milk of your choice (I used unsweetened vanilla almond.)
  • 1/2 banana, mashed
  • 1 heaping tablespoon of peanut butter
  • Flax seed to top (optional)
  1. In a microwave safe bowl, combine oats, flaxmeal, milk, and banana. Stir together until well blended.
  2. Microwave for one minute and 15 seconds.
  3. Mix in peanut butter and top with flax seed, if desired.

How to “level up” this recipe:

  • If you want to cut out some fats, try using PB2 or another peanut butter substitute.
  • Stir in some honey, pure maple syrup, and/or cinnamon for added flavor!

How to “level down” this recipe:

  • You could easily use an instant oatmeal packet (such as brown sugar & maple) for the oats.
  • Chocolate chips — After it’s cooked, throw in a few chocolate chips. I’m sure it would be amazing!
Leave a Reply

