Steel Cut Sundays

Standard

As I emerge from my Thanksgiving food coma, I’m slowly getting back into a regular routine. Since our church started offering Saturday night services, I’ve been getting to enjoy my Sunday mornings relaxing and tackling my to-do list. (If you’re in the Newark area, consider checking out The Journey Church — you can get there Saturday night and still sleep in on Sunday!) This Sunday was no different…

I slept until about 7:30 (I can’t sleep in!), got up, and made some coffee while cleaning up our kitchen. Eventually, I sat down to have some oats for breakfast before tackling other projects for the day: catching up on emails, finding a recipe to make for tonight’s dinner with friends, and whipping up a batch of healthy protein bars and steel cut oats for the week. It was a combination of a lazy/productive morning — I finished all of this before 11 a.m. while still hanging out in my PJ’s. Can’t beat that!

Before I lost all motivation, I headed to the gym and completed a 30-minute pyramid circuit workout on the treadmill followed by 20 minutes of arm strengthening exercises. I have a feeling my arms are going to be pretty sore tomorrow!

As I mentioned, this morning I made a batch of steel cut oats. Since they take awhile to cook, I normally make a big pot on Sundays and then eat them every morning throughout the week. It’s super simple and allows you to enjoy a healthy, hearty breakfast every morning without a lot of prep time!

Steel Cut Oats For The Week
Serves 4-5

  • 1 cup steel cut oats
  • 4 cups water
  1. In a large pot, combine water and steel cut oats. Bring to a boil.
  2. Reduce heat and stir occasionally until all water is absorbed.
  3. Let cool and then place in resealable container. Store in the refrigerator.

How to “level up” this recipe:

  • I typically “level up” my oats by taking out a small portion each morning and adding in some unsweetened vanilla almond milk (any milk would work) and some of the following: ground flax seeds, chia seeds, granola, bananas, apples, cinnamon, protein powder, and/or vanilla.

How to “level down” this recipe:

Leave a Reply

