Get ready to go bananas for this healthy banana bread

Standard

As I’m writing this post, I smell it — the yummy, healthy banana bread waiting to be devoured from my oven.

Don’t worry, I’ll exercise enough self control to keep myself from burning my mouth. I can’t make any promises about not finishing off the loaf though — it smells that good!

But, first, back to business! A quick workout recap/looking ahead for this week…

We’ve had amazing weather this weekend! On Sunday, I broke out my old trail running shoes to do 6.5 miles on a local trail. It was absolutely beautiful, and we kept a nice easy pace which made it very enjoyable!

Trail running

Trail shoes on, ready to tackle a few miles!

Yesterday, I waited until after work to run so I was fighting to get in a good run before it was completely dark! I got in five miles under 40 minutes and averaged about 7:52/mile. I love when I see those sub-8s on the watch! 🙂

The rest of the week will likely look something like this…

  • Today: 30 mins. elliptical, 20 mins. arms strength training
  • Wednesday: 30 mins. HIIT treadmill workout, ab interval workout
  • Thursday: 30 mins. elliptical, leg circuit workout (will share soon!)
  • Friday: 30 mins. cardio, 20 mins. arm strength training
  • Saturday: Rest!

And, now, for the best healthy banana bread you’ve ever had…

Healthy Banana Bread
Adapted from Chocolate Covered Katie‘s “Pajama Banana Bread”

Healthy Banana Bread

  • 3/4 c. whole wheat flour
  • 1 1/4 c. all purpose flour
  • 3/4 tsp. salt
  • 1 tsp. baking soda
  • 3/4 tsp. baking powder
  • 1/2 tsp. cinnamon
  • 1/4 c. brown/raw sugar
  • 1/4 c. agave/maple syrup
  • 2 Tbsp. honey
  • 1 1/2 Tbsp. lemon juice
  • 3 large ripe bananas, mashed
  1. Preheat oven to 350 degrees and coat bread pan with cooking spray.
  2. In a bowl, mix all dry ingredients.
  3. In a larger bowl, mix all wet ingredients and blend.
  4. Slowly add dry ingredients to wet, mixing well. (I used my Kitchenaid mixer; could also mix by hand.)
  5. Pour into loaf pan and put in oven. (If desired, top with walnuts and oats like I did!) Bake about 35-40 minutes or until toothpick comes out clean.
  6. Enjoy! 🙂

How to “level up” this recipe: 

  • Substitute 1/4 c. of flaxseed or ground oats for the flour. 
  • Add in 1/3 c. of berries. (I almost threw in some blueberries!)

How to “level down” this recipe:

  • Add in one cup of dark chocolate chips — yum!
  • Instead of the agave, use 1/4 c. of raw sugar, but know that your consistency will likely change a bit. 
2 thoughts on “Get ready to go bananas for this healthy banana bread

Leave a Reply

