Snowy day, sneezes, & stromboli

Standard

Happy Saturday, friends! Currently, it’s snowing here in Delaware and coming down pretty hard –yay! We haven’t had a “good” snow yet this season, and since I don’t have anywhere I have to be today, I love it! I was hoping to start the day off with a long run (I have my new Garmin charged and ready to go!), but a combination of the snow and battling a cold put that on the back burner.

On to Plan B! Although it may not be as exciting, it’s definitely been productive. I spent the morning reorganizing our entire second bedroom (it was literally a mess), cleaned up our house, and read at least a hundred more pages of Gone Girl. I just started it on Thursday night, and I’m already halfway through — I definitely recommend it! Amongst all the cleaning and reading, I’ve been eating clementines like my job. I’m hoping the Vitamin C can help flush this cold out!

Eating clementines like it's my job!

Eating clementines like it’s my job!

But, enough about my snowy day and sneezes…on to more fun topics like stromboli!

I love stromboli. We have this little pizza shop back home which has the best stromboli I’ve ever had in my life — ham, pepperoni, cheese, sauce, wrapped in the most delicious dough. It may have about 39552857 calories, but it’s worth every single one.

A few weeks ago, I made some homemade wheat pizza dough to use for a veggie stromboli (for me) and a pepperoni stromboli (for the hubs). It was pretty good, but takes a long time from start to finish because of the time involved to let the dough rise.

Then, I discovered this No-Yeast Pizza Dough with Whole Wheat from Kristin in Her Kitchen. It. is. life. changing. There’s no yeast, which means there’s no rising, which means it’s done in five minutes from start to finish. Homemade wheat dough in five minutes? Yes, please!

It turns out a little tougher than regular rise dough, but the time it saves you is more than worth it — I promise. You can wrap this dough around anything you want — veggies, pepperoni, sauce and cheese. I used it as the basis for this BBQ Chicken Whole Wheat Stromboli. Yum!

BBQ Chicken Whole Wheat Stromboli
Serves 5-6

  • No-Yeast Pizza Dough, prepared
  • 2 cups BBQ chicken, shredded
  • 1 1/4 cups cheese (I used reduced-fat cheddar and mozzarella)
  • Extra BBQ sauce, if desired
    BBQ Chicken Whole Wheat Stromboli
  1. Preheat oven to 400 and prepare your no-yeast dough. 
  2. Spray a cooking stone with olive oil cooking spray and begin to spread your dough evenly on pan. Try to make it fill the pan as much as possible.
  3. Spread your two cups of chicken across the center of the dough. Top with your cheese and remaining BBQ sauce if desired.
  4. Take left side of dough and place it over toppings. Take right side of dough and fold it over the other dough and toppings. Be sure to pinch your edges to make sure everything stays in there.
  5. Cut about six slits on top of dough to help it vent throughout cooking.
  6. Bake for about 15-18 minutes or until dough is cooked through and lightly browned on bottom.BBQ Chicken Stromboli with whole wheat dough

How to “level up” this recipe

  • Add some sliced veggies to the mix! I suggest some red onion and green pepper to compliment the BBQ flavor. 
  • If you have the time, try using a yeast-based whole wheat dough. It may take longer, but the crust will be a little lighter than the no-yeast option. I use this recipe from BudgetBytes for my homemade doughs.

How to “level down” this recipe

  • Not ready for the whole homemade dough thing yet? Try using a premade dough, like the Pillsbury Artisan Dough with Whole Grain. It makes this easy recipe even easier! 
Leave a Reply

