WIAW featuring this week’s star: Spicy Sweet Potato Black Bean Soup

Standard

It’s that time again for What I Ate Wednesday hosted by Jenn over at Peas & Crayons! My WIAW comes from last Thursday…it was a day full of decent eats, but the superstar was the Spicy Sweet Potato Black Bean Soup, inspired by the Cooking Light cookbook I’m obsessed with.

You seriously need to try this soup. But, we’ll get there, I promise…

First up, breakfast! I switched things up from my usual bowl of hot oats with this yummy banana egg pancake, which was inspired by fANNEtastic food & Carrots ‘n’ Cake! I topped mine with some peanut butter and TJ’s maple agave syrup.

WIAW1.9_breakfast

I was pretty hungry come morning snack time, so I opted for a black cherry CHO topped with oats and cashews rather than my usual piece of fruit. I ended up not being hungry until almost 2 p.m. — so filling!

WIAW1.9_morning snack

Even by 2 p.m., I wasn’t totally hungry for lunch, but I broke it out anyways so I wouldn’t throw off my whole day. I enjoyed a whole wheat wrap with a slice of TJ’s turkey bacon, fresh avocado, and spinach, with some baby carrots on the side.

WIAW1.9_wrap

By the time I got home for dinner, I was super hungry! I started off the meal with a pear (unpictured) while I whipped up this Spicy Sweet Potato Black Bean soup. (Recipe to follow!) I enjoyed some Crunchmaster crackers on the side.


Spicy Sweet Potato Black Bean Soup

Spicy Sweet Potato Black Bean Soup
Inspired by Cooking Light

  • 1 can reduced-sodium black beans, drained and rinsed
  • 1 can fire-roasted tomatoes
  • 1 1/2 c. water
  • 1 large sweet potato, peeled
  • 1/2 c. corn
  • 1 tsp. cumin
  • 1 tsp. chili powder
  1. First, poke your sweet potato and cook in microwave about five minutes or until softened. Once cool, cut into small chunks and set aside.
  2. In a medium saucepan, combine black beans, tomatoes, sweet potato, corn, cumin, chili powder, and water. Bring to a boil.
  3. Reduce heat and simmer for about ten minutes.
  4. Enjoy!

How to “level up” this recipe

  • Add more veggies! Next time, I think I’ll throw in some bell peppers.

How to “level down” this recipe

  • For some more flavor, top with sour cream or even plain greek yogurt. I enjoyed mine with sliced avocado and cilantro on top! 

And, finally, after my amazing soup, I ended the night with some chocolate oats. In the mix: 1/4 c. oats, almond milk, 1/2 tsp. cocoa, and 1 tsp. peanut butter. (Sorry for the crappy photo — it was late and all I had was my iPhone!)

WIAW1.9_evening snack

Want to see more fun bloggy eats? Head over to Peas and Crayons!

3 thoughts on “WIAW featuring this week’s star: Spicy Sweet Potato Black Bean Soup

Leave a Reply

