Birthday weekend highlights!

Standard

You already saw the start of my birthday weekend on Friday, and that was only the beginning! It was truly a great weekend — I am beyond tired, but had an awesome time, so that’s all that counts, right?

Andy & me enjoying birthday weekend!

Andy & me enjoying birthday weekend!

After work on Friday, I came home and made this Sweet Potato Lentil Dish from KERF, roasted brussel sprouts, and vegan pumpkin bars (check out tomorrow’s post for that recipe!) to enjoy with my friend Alyssa before heading off to see Les Mis. It was good, but very, very long. I’d still recommend it if you enjoy musicals — I absolutely loved Anne Hathaway!

On Saturday morning (my birthday!), I woke up, enjoyed some oatmeal, and then headed to the gym for an Insane Incline Treadmill Workout and arm strengthening workout. I got home around 11 a.m., took a quick shower, and got ready since my aunt, uncle, and cousin came down to visit for the day! We went out to lunch and spent the afternoon with them before heading to the Saturday evening service at my church.

All day long, I assumed Andy and I were going out for dinner…he wouldn’t tell me exactly what we were doing that night but told me to dress “semi nice” and pick somewhere we had a gift card for. (We got a lot of gift cards for Christmas, and being young, married, and buried in student loans doesn’t equal a whole lot of money!) I was hoping he had at least invited some friends, but it didn’t seem that way until…

After church, he told me another couple was going to come to dinner with us and that we needed to stop for gas (even though I already had about a third of a tank). That’s when I started to put it together…he surprised me by taking me to Max Brenner in downtown Philly!

Max Brenner napkin

We started off with their waffle fries dusted in cocoa powder and chili powder…sounds odd, but they were delicious! So delicious, in fact, that they were gone before I got a photo. Oops!

I followed up the waffle fries with their Savory Roasted Vegetable Waffle sandwich…it was a little different, but enjoyable. The sandwich was served cold, but I think it would have been better warm — aren’t waffles always warm? Either way, I LOVED the cucumber vinaigrette salad on the side!

Max Brenner dinner

But, these were all just distractions until we got to the main course…dessert! Max Brenner is famous for their chocolate and every single dessert looked amazing. Andy and I ended up sharing the “Euphoria Peanut Butter Chocolate Fudge Sundae.” Oh. my. gosh. Deep chocolate peanut butter and dulce de leche ice cream, caramelized bananas, peanuts, chocolate covered toffee…all served with warm chocolate ganache and peanut butter sauce on the side. We finished every bite!
Max Brenner chocolate

Such a fun night! Yesterday, I slept in, headed off for a six miler as part of my marathon training plan, got ready, and then my parents came down to visit. We went out for lunch (again!) and had a great afternoon together…I even lucked out with a new pair of Mizuno Wave Runners as my gift! (Here I am rocking them at the gym this morning!)

Mizunos

Last night, we held an impromptu party for the AFC Championship game (Go Ravens!), which was a great (but tiring!) end to a great weekend. We had a delicious spread, including shredded buffalo chicken, Strawberry Goat Cheese Salad, veggies, blue corn chips and salsa, and much more. I went to bed a very full and happy girl!

Hope you all had a great weekend! 🙂

Leave a Reply

