Saturday morning miles & meals

Standard

By some miracle, I slept for more than nine hours last night, so when my alarm went off at 7:55 this morning, I was ready to jump out of bed and get ready for the day!

This spring, I’m leading a small group for my church called “Miles & Meals”…the idea is we meet up on Saturday mornings, run a few miles together at a local park, and then have brunch together. I’ve actually had a lot of interest in the group, so I was excited for our first meeting this morning. Until I saw this…

TemperatureYep, it was 17 degrees when I pulled on my cold gear and headed out the door.

I was afraid it would deter people, but we had a group of six show up and we ended up doing a little over three (cold!) miles together before calling it a day. I’ve had an intense training week, so it was fun to slow down and just enjoy running with some friends early on a Saturday morning.

After our run, we headed back to my co-leader’s house to enjoy this delicious spread…

Running group breakfast spreadJulie had made a veggie & meat fritatta and a fruit salad, and I made a baked banana walnut oatmeal and cinnamon apple steel cut oats in the crockpot. It was my first time trying out oats in the crockpot, and they were super easy and pretty delicious!

Running group breakfastI enjoyed a little bit of the veggie frittata, crockpot oats, baked banana oatmeal, and fruit. (Times the fruit & baked banana oatmeal x2!)

Now, I’m off to clean our apartment up, make some protein bars for the week, and get started on some Superbowl food for the game tomorrow before heading to church tonight! Have a great Saturday!

2 thoughts on “Saturday morning miles & meals

  1. Hi! I’m a friend of Julie’s… She invited me to join your Miles and Meals group, but I haven’t had a chance yet. I’m definitely looking forward to it. And I’m so happy to meet another local blogger! Hopefully I can make it to the next run!

Leave a Reply

