Celebrating National Pancake Day clean eating style

Standard

It’s National Pancake Day! You can head to IHOP for a free short stack of buttermilk pancakes…. or forget the line and whip up a batch of my honey almond flax pancakes. They are gluten-free and Paleo…and extremely delicious!

Honey almond flax pancakes

Honey almond flax pancakes
Adapted from Carrot n Cake’s OMG Pancakes
Makes about 12 small pancakes (3-4 servings)

  • 2 large bananas, mashed
  • 2 eggs
  • 1 egg white
  • 1/4 c. almond meal/flour
  • 3 Tbsp. flax meal
  • 1/4 c. almond butter
  • 1/2 tsp. baking powder
  • 1/2 tsp. vanilla
  • 1/2 tsp. cinnamon
  • 1/2 Tbsp. honey (or maple syrup)
  1. Preheat a griddle (or large skillet) to about 400 degrees. Spray with cooking spray.
  2. Meanwhile, combine mashed bananas, eggs, and egg white in a large bowl and mix well. (I recommend using a hand or stand mixer…or just a lot of elbow power!)
  3. Gradually add the rest of the ingredients listed above and mix until well combined.
  4. Use a 1/4 measuring cup to scoop batter and pour on to griddle.
  5. Cook and flip.
  6. Serve with your favorite toppings! I usually add a little bit of almond butter, unsweetened shredded coconut, a few flax seeds, and maple agave syrup. Delicious!

How to “level up” this recipe:

  • To add an extra punch of protein, throw in a scoop of protein powder as well (and use another whole egg rather than an egg white for better consistency). 

How to “level down” this recipe:

  • No almond meal on hand? You can use oat, spelt, whole wheat, or even all purpose flour…just be aware that the consistency will change a bit. 

But enough about pancakes…let’s talk about workouts! Last night after work I met up with my friend Eileen and we did a little over five miles at a local park…

Garmin

It was freezing (I spent the first half of the run with my North Face, gloves, and ear warmer all on), but it was nice to have a running buddy. I’m hoping she can join me for the 10-miler I have on the schedule for this weekend!

This morning, I got up nice and early and headed to the gym to complete a 30-minute HIIT treadmill workout and a leg circuit (I added a few more leg strengthening moves to the circuit as well).  It got my heart pumping and my energy up for the day!

Enjoy your Tuesday, everyone!

Leave a Reply

