Achieving my first goal of 2013 + a delicious new recipe!

Standard

So about six weeks in to 2013, I was able to achieve my first New Year’s resolution…try out yoga!

I had a super early meeting at work yesterday, so getting a workout in this morning just wasn’t happening. On the bright side, I was able to hit the elliptical for 20 minutes, followed up by yoga at Shake It! Fitness Studio.

Did I get a runner’s high? Nope. Did I get sweaty? Barely. Did it feel amazing? You betcha!

I would never stretch and challenge my muscles like that for 50 minutes, so this pi-yo class was a great way to stretch out my tight legs from running. I snagged a Groupon for the studio (10 classes for only $29!), so I am hoping to go once a week (because I quickly learned just how inflexible I am!). All in all, it was a great experience! (If you’re in the area, definitely check it out.)

When I got home, I was pretty hungry. I had originally planned on a roasted sweet potato & black bean burrito for dinner, but since I already had beans in some leftover Turkey Bean Vegetable Chili for lunch, I decided to try something a little different instead…

Sweet potato quesadilla

Sweet potato quesadilla
Serves 1

  • 1/2  medium sweet potato
  • 1 whole wheat tortilla
  • 1/2 c. peppers, chopped (I used orange and yellow since that’s what I had on hand; frozen would also work)
  • Red onion
  • 1/4 c. cheese (I used a combo of cheddar and mozzarella)
  • Sprinkle of chili powder
  • Cilantro (optional)
  • Lime juice (optional)
  1. First, clean and pierce your sweet potato. Place in microwave for about five minutes or until heated through.
  2. Next, chop up your peppers and onions and add them to a skillet (coated with cooking spray or some olive oil). Saute until lightly browned.
  3. Remove sweet potato from microwave, cut in half, and remove the skin. (I love the skin, so I ate it on the spot!) Begin to mash half of the sweet potato and spread evenly across half of your tortilla.
  4. Add your cheese, onions, and peppers on top of sweet potato mash and sprinkle with chili powder. Fold in half, and place back in skillet. Flip once until both sides are browned.
  5. Remove from heat, open, and add a sprinkle of lime juice and cilantro, if desired.

How to “level up” this recipe:

  • Add more veggies! I think tomatoes or corn would be great additions to this. 

How to “level down” this recipe:

  • Use a white or corn tortilla in place of the whole wheat.
One thought on “Achieving my first goal of 2013 + a delicious new recipe!

  1. Katie Stollar

    The long anticipated post!
    I hardly liked yoga the first time or to I went but it has definitely grown on me. I’m now an avid fan of PiYo and have started going to strength yoga or fit yoga where there are more demanding poses where we hold them longer that really challenge muscles not commonly used for weight lifting or running.
    So glad you went!!!
    Happy Valentines Day! ❤

Leave a Reply

