A trend I just can’t do

Standard

If you’re a food blog junkie like me, you’ve seen the recipe everywhere: overnight oats.

Don’t get me wrong. I. love. oats. But, I love a big bowl of oats served piping hot so that my nut butter melts just right and makes the whole bowl taste amazing.

But cold oats? I just wasn’t feeling it. However, I’ll try anything once and since I had an empty jar of peanut butter staring me in the face, I felt obligated to throw together my own version of overnight oats.

But before we get into the recipe, it’s time for a few truths…

Truth #1:  This picture is horrible. I was lazy and snapped it with my iPhone right before digging in. If you want pretty pictures of overnight oats, try this, this, or this. These people show their overnight oats some lovin’ I just can’t muster…

Truth #2: I got about halfway through breakfast when I threw in the towel, dumped out my oats into a bowl, and warmed them up in the microwave. I am officially Team Warm Oats!

Overnight oats jar

Overnight oats
Serves 1

  • 1/3 c. oats
  • 1/3 c. water
  • 1/3 c. milk (I used unsweetened vanilla almond)
  • 1/2 Tbsp. chia seeds
  • 1/3 scoop protein powder (Optional; I used vanilla)
  1. Mix together all ingredients.
  2. Pour into empty nut butter jar and place in refrigerator overnight.
  3. In the morning, add another scoop of nut butter (if desired), mix, and enjoy!

How to “level up” this recipe:

  • Add some chopped fruit, such as apples or strawberries, or mash half of a banana and stir in.
  • Substitute 1/3 c. greek yogurt for the water.

How to “level down” this recipe:

  • Omit the chia seeds. The seeds help with liquid absorption and add a punch of protein and fiber, but if you don’t have any on hand, it’s okay to leave them out!
  • To sweeten your oats, add 1/2 Tbsp. maple or agave syrup, a few chocolate chips, or a splash of vanilla.
Leave a Reply

