Born to run…and to improvise!

Standard

This was the weekend of baby showers, delicious recipes, and lots of improvising.

Friday night started off with dinner with some friends we haven’t seen in a while, which was great! I made pepperoni pizza balls and spinach tortellini soup which ended up being one of the easiest (and most delicious) complete meals I’ve made in awhile! (Recipe to come.)

Spinach Tortellini Soup

For whatever reason, as soon as I laid down on Friday night, I started feeling really stuffy and had a tough time sleeping. I woke up early on Saturday morning and could barely breathe. Ugh, I thought I was done with my cold after last weekend!

I had to miss my Saturday morning running group and take another unexpected rest day this week. Oh well! I laid around all morning and felt well enough to go to a friend’s baby shower in the afternoon and church in the evening. Once I got back last night, I wanted to use some of the bananas I had browning on my countertop, so I ended up making my healthy banana bread, substituting 1 cup of blueberries for one of the bananas and 1 c. oat flour instead of the all-purpose flour. The berries kept the bread so moist, and I’ll definitely be making it again!

Sunday morning breakfast

When I woke up this morning, I wanted an excuse to eat some of my banana blueberry bread…so enter egg white oats! I followed this recipe, but substituted ground flax for the chia seeds and omitted the banana. I topped my oats with a slice of my bread and some peanut butter. It was delicious!

I was supposed to do a 13-miler as part of marathon training today, and although I was feeling better, I definitely wasn’t 100% and I didn’t think it would be in my best interest to do 13 miles in 25 degree weather. Time to improvise! I headed to the gym and did seven miles on the treadmill and decided to try to fit in my 13 miler later this week.

After a trip to the grocery store, I got ready and then headed over to my friend Courtney’s for her baby shower. I am excited to meet her new baby girl at the end of this month!

Courtney Baby Shower

(If you think she doesn’t look all that pregnant, you’re right. She’s the smallest pregnant person I’ve ever seen, and I can only pray I’ll be her size when I’m pregnant, haha!)

One of the things we did was decorate onesies for the baby girl! There were some pretty awesome onesies, including a “Starbucks Baby” one. Too cute!

Onesies WallAnd, in honor of all of the runs the baby is bound to take with me and Courtney, I had to make this…

Born to RunIf she has any of her mom’s genes, she sure is born to run!

Hope you all had a great weekend, everyone!

One thought on “Born to run…and to improvise!

Leave a Reply

