Halfway there!

Standard

Cue Bon Jovi, because ohh, ohhhh, we’re halfway there!

And depending on what mile it is, we’re definitely living on a prayer.

Last evening, I completed the 13-miler that I had missed because of being sick this weekend…and it was pretty awesome!

But, we’ll back up a bit and start off from the beginning in honor of What I Ate Wednesday! This month is dubbed “What I Ate Wednesday Goes Green,” and we’re doing our best to showcase how we get our greens in each day.


I started off yesterday with a big bowl of oats with chia seeds, unsweetened vanilla almond milk, peanut butter, and a few crumbles from the blueberry banana bread I made over the weekend (and have pretty much demolished).

Sunday morning breakfast

For my mid-morning snack, I had a banana that wasn’t quite ripe. (Ick!)

WIAW3.5_banana

For lunch, I had LOTS of greens!

WIAW36_lunchSalad: Romaine lettuce, spinach, baby carrots, cucumbers, shredded red cabbage, red pepper, red onion, shredded parmesan &  sliced almonds topped with TJ’s fat free balsamic vinaigrette
On the side: Steamed sweet potato with some chili powder on top (Yes, I was a little too heavy handed with the chili powder — still good though!)

I broke into my afternoon snack a little early since I was running after work and didn’t want to be too full.

WIAW36_snack(Sorry for the horrible picture! I had 1/4 c. of trail mix which included whole almonds, peanuts, cashews, raisins, and dried cranberries.)

After work, it was off for my 13 miler! I ended up driving to a different trail near where I lived last year…it’s absolutely beautiful, and it was a great change of pace! I made it into a 4.5 mile loop, and ran it just about three times. I really wanted to break 1:50 at the end, but just didn’t have it in my in the final miles 😦 I’m pretty pleased with this time though!

13 miles

When I got home, I wasn’t all that hungry but knew I should eat. I planned on having leftover slow cooker chicken cheesesteaks for dinner, but decided that egg whites sounded better. Whenever I do a long run, I give myself leeway to eat pretty much whatever I can handle afterwards! Therefore, I had a small piece of banana blueberry oat bread while making dinner: two pieces of sliced whole wheat french bread topped with two egg whites and a slice of mozzarella cheese with some roasted brussel sprouts on the side. And lots of water, of course!

WIAW35_dinner

6 thoughts on “Halfway there!

Leave a Reply

