Why I can’t be trusted with desk snacks

Standard

You know that secret stash of goodies you keep in your desk when hunger strikes?

Yep, I don’t have one of those, mainly because I can’t trust myself not to munch on my snacks all day long.

Today was another reminder that I really can’t be trusted with desk snacks.

desk snacks

Over my lunch break, I ran out to the grocery store to pick up bagels for the hubby and remembered that I had forgotten to pack puffed wheat to eat with my CHO combo. I reasoned that I’d just pick up a box of cereal to enjoy with my greek yogurt and have some on hand for later.

B-A-D, bad idea.

When hunger struck around 3:30, I pulled out my greek yogurt and topped it with some crushed wheat squares, as evidenced below…

desk snacks_greek yogurtAnd after I finished, I added in a few more wheat squares.

And then another handful.

And maybe another handful or two.

I. can. not. be. trusted. I have no self control when it comes to yummy organic cereal, that’s for sure.

For someone so disciplined with my workouts and overall healthy eating (I can deny a piece of birthday cake like it’s nobody’s business), desk snacks are my downfall!

Speaking of discipline, I woke up at 5:30 this morning to hit the gym for a seven mile speed run. Unlike my afternoon snack fail, it was a definite win! Here’s what it looked like:

  • Mile 1: 7.0
  • Mile 2: (changed speed every 0.2 miles) 7.1, 7.3, 7.5, 7.3, 7.1
  • Mile 3: 7.0
  • Mile 4: 7.2, 7.4, 7.6, 7.4, 7.2
  • Mile 5: 7.1
  • Mile 6: 7.3, 7.5, 7.7, 7.5, 7.3
  • Mile 7: 7.1 = first 0.5 miles; 8.0 = second 0.5 miles

The speed was a steady increase and I never felt overly uncomfortable, so I think I could have pushed it a little bit more. However, this workout flew and I think the intervals definitely helped!

What’s your downfall?

Leave a Reply

