I’m running a marathon {WIAW Edition}

Standard

So yes, ya’ll know by now that I’m running a marathon (in only a month a half! ah!)…What you probably don’t know is how frequently I eat and justify it by “I’m running a marathon.”

It’s become a slight problem. The days after my long run, I am hungry all the time. And I somehow justify that extra handful of chocolate chips or bite of dessert by the fact that I’m in training. It’s what lead me to create (and subsequently eat) these babies…

Chocolate Chip Cookie BrownieChocolate chip cookies. Brownies. Peanut butter.

Honestly, need I say more?

But, before we get there, we’ll back up a bit because it’s time for What I Ate Wednesday, and that certainly lends itself to a proper introduction!

These eats came from last Friday, the day after my 16 miler on the treadmill. Despite being hungry all day long, I got in a lot of greens — win!

WIAW3.20

Breakfast: Three Hot Apple Pie Pancakes (made with oat flour and organic skim milk), topped with almond butter and maple agave syrup

Snack: Cara Cara Orange

Lunch: Salad (Romaine lettuce, celery, carrots, onion, cucumbers, pickles, almonds, and deli turkey, topped with fat-free balsamic vinaigrette) + homemade sweet potato fries on side

Afternoon snack: 3 oz. pomegranate CHO + 3 oz. plain 0% CHO, topped with puffed wheat

Dinner: Two slices of homemade vegetable pizza + sauteed asparagus

Evening snack: Bowl of wheat squares with organic skim milk

And, then came dessert…

Peanut butter chocolate chip cookie brownies via Levels

Peanut butter chocolate chip cookie brownies
Serves about 16
Adapted from Baked by Rachel

  • 1 box of brownies, prepared (I used Duncan Hines Low Fat) 
  • 5 Tbsp. unsalted butter
  • 3 Tbsp. brown sugar
  • 3 Tbsp. raw sugar
  • 1 egg
  • 1/2 tsp. vanilla extract
  • 1/8 tsp. baking powder
  • 1/4 tsp. baking soda
  • 1/4 tsp. salt
  • 1 1/4 c. flour (I used occident unbleached white flour)
  • 3/4 c. semi sweet chocolate chips
  • 2 Tbsp. peanut butter
  1. Preheat oven to 350 and spray a 13 x 9 pan with cooking spray.
  2. Pour prepared brownie mix into pan and spread evenly.
  3. In a large bowl, cream your softened butter and sugars. Add egg and vanilla and continue to mix until well blended.
  4. In a separate bowl, add flour, salt, baking powder, and baking soda.
  5. Slowly mix your dry ingredients with your wet. At this point, add your two tablespoons of peanut butter and mix with other ingredients.
  6. Fold in your chocolate chips.
  7. Using a large cookie scoop, scoop out cookie dough balls and drop evenly on top of prepared brownie mix.
  8. Bake for about 30 to 35 minutes or until toothpick comes out clean.

How to “level up” this recipe

  • It’s certainly not the healthiest, so you have lots of options! Consider using half whole wheat flour instead of all white for an easy swap. 
  • Use agave syrup in place of the raw sugar.
  • Use dark chocolate chips or even cocoa nibs instead of semi-sweet.

How to “level down” this recipe

18 thoughts on “I’m running a marathon {WIAW Edition}

  1. Yum! Those brownies look amazing! I’ve never ran a full marathon but I have done a few halves and remember how hungry I would be after my longer runs (10-12 miles). I can only imagine your appetite after those runs close to 20miles!

    • It’s definitely out of control, but it normally takes me until the next day to get really hungry. Right after a run, I have a tough time eating much, but the next day — I eat everything in sight! Haha 🙂

    • Hmmm..honestly this Cara Cara orange wasn’t great, but I’d say it’s closer to a navel than a Mandarin. However, it’s sweeter than regular navels. I’d recommend the Cara Caras from Trader Joe’s! 🙂

    • Thanks, Katie! I know I’m always making swaps depending on who I’m cooking for and what I’m feeling, so I wanted to be able to share them with all of my readers as well. Glad you like it!

  2. Oh my god, those brownie cookie things look absolutely fantastic! And so do your pancakes actually – bookmarked both recipes for future use 🙂

Leave a Reply

