WIAW featuring healthy minestrone soup!

Standard

It may be “springtime” but with a snowstorm on Monday, it’s still soup time around here! That’s why this WIAW features this yummy healthy minestrone soup perfect for our March weather.

New to the What I Ate Wednesday party? See what it’s all about over at Peas & Crayons!

This week’s WIAW came from last Wednesday…luckily I was able to get in a good amount of greens before my deliciously indulgent (and pretty green-free) weekend in Pittsburgh! (Did you miss my Pittsburgh recap? You can check out Part 1, Part 2, and Part 3 here!)

I started off the morning with a delicious banana egg pancake topped with TJ’s almond butter + maple agave syrup and sprinkled with flax seed and coconut.

WIAW327_breakfast

For my morning snack, I enjoyed a small honeycrisp apple. (My favorite! They were selling 5 lb. bags at BJ’s for $10 — score!)

WIAW327_apple

For lunch, I enjoyed a leftover bowl of my minestrone soup with a side of (unpictured) carrots and celery. I made it in the crockpot (too easy!) and even froze some leftovers for later.

Healthy Minestrone Vegetable Soup

Healthy Minestrone Vegetable Soup
Recipe adapted from Food Network

  • 3 c. reduced-sodium vegetable broth
  • 2 14.5 oz. cans diced tomatoes (no salt added)
  • 1 can white cannellini beans, drained
  • 10 baby carrots, thinly sliced
  • 2 celery stalks, chopped
  • 1 1/2 c. zucchini (I used frozen yellow + green)
  • 1 c. onion, chopped
  • 1 t. dried thyme
  • 1/2 t. dried sage
  • 1 tsp. pepper
  • 1 tsp. seasoned salt (from Tastefully Simple)
  • 2 cups cooked whole wheat pasta shells
  • 2 cups baby spinach (or equivalent frozen)
  1. In crockpot, combine broth, tomatoes, beans, carrots, celery, zucchini (if using frozen; if using fresh wait until step 2), onion, and spices. Cook on high for 3-4 hours or low for 5-6 hours.
  2. With 30 minutes left to cook, pour in your cooked pasta and baby spinach. Stir, cover, and cook for an additional 30 minutes. Ladle, let cool, and enjoy!

How to level up this recipe:

  • You know the drill…add more veggies! 
  • There was a bit too much pasta in here for me…I’d recommend you cut it down to 1 1/2 c. if you’re not a big pasta person.

How to level down this recipe:

  • Although it wouldn’t be traditional Minestrone, you could easily add in a pound of cooked lean ground beef or turkey. 

For my afternoon snack, I enjoyed a hodgepodge of whatever I needed to use from my fridge before going away. In the mix: 3 oz. Pomegranate Chobani, 1/4 c. low-fat cottage cheese, blueberries, oats, and puffed wheat. Yum.

WIAW327_afternoon snack_edit

I had a late meeting and was so hungry by the time I got home! I had an unphotographed piece of TJ’s multigrain rustic wheat bread before enjoying this plate of healthy homemade chicken parmesan with roasted Brussell sprouts and cucumbers on the side.

WIAW327_dinnerSince I hadn’t had any oats or peanut butter all day (the horror!), I ended the night with a small bowl of oatmeal. In the mix: 1/3 c. oats, organic skim milk, and natural peanut butter.

WIAW327_oatmeal

There you have it! Stay tuned this week for my first product review — can’t wait to share it with ya!

One thought on “WIAW featuring healthy minestrone soup!

Leave a Reply

