An unconventional Easter

Standard

So, I’m sorry it’s a few days late, but things have been crazy busy since Saturday night and I’m just now getting the chance to write! How was your Easter? I hope it was great!

My Easter was unconventional for many reasons, the first being that I spent the entire thing here in Delaware! Although I’ve been down here for school for the past four years, I’ve always taken the two-hour trek home to PA for the holiday. With my church having five services this weekend + a special guest (I’ll get there in a minute!), I wasn’t able to make it home for the holiday.

However, it was still a pretty awesome weekend! Sunday morning, I woke up and did Level 3 of Jillian Michaels 30-Day Shred (forgot how hard it was!) and then enjoyed a delicious bowl of banana egg white oats…

2013-03-31 08.39.33

Banana Egg White Oats:

  • 1/2 c. quick oats
  • 1/3 c. water
  • 1/3 c. milk (I used unsweetened vanilla almond)
  • 1/2 Tbsp. chia seeds
  • 1 small banana
  • 1 egg white
  1. In a small saucepan, combine oats, water, and milk, and heat until oats begin to thicken. 
  2. Next, add your egg white and continue mixing until egg cooks through.
  3. Finally, add your banana and chia seeds and whip until everything is mixed.
  4. Enjoy your big fluffy bowl of oats with your favorite toppings! (For me, a small scoop of natural peanut butter + roasted peanuts.)

How to level up this recipe:

  • To up the protein count, use two egg whites instead of just one for flufflier oats.

How to level down this recipe:

  • For more flavor, add 2/3 c. total of milk and no water. 

I knew I had a long morning ahead, so this was the perfect fuel to get me through! After I got ready, Andy and I headed into church where I soon met up with a reporter and photographer from the state’s newspaper, The News Journal. They did a cover story about The Journey’s new campus and Easter services, which was printed in yesterday’s paper! It’s so awesome to see how God is working throughout our community.

The Journey newspaper

I knew it’d be almost 2 until we got out of church, which was much to late to head to PA to spend the day with our families, so I figured that Andy and I would just make something for dinner to eat together. (We considered ham, but realized there was NO way we were going to come close to eating a whole ham ourselves. Coupled with the fact that I’m not a huge ham fan anyways, I planned to make some hamburgers, potatoes, and asparagus. So classy!)

Thankfully, friends from our church invited us over to spend the afternoon with them, which was so sweet of them…and so much fun! I purposely didn’t take a picture of my plate (or my double dose of dessert), but trust me when I say it was delicious. Ham, salad, brussell sprouts with pears and pearl onions (amazing), roasted asparagus, mac n cheese, rolls, baked beans, dirty rice…we had quite the spread!

For my contribution, I brought over these Parmesan Roasted Potatoes…I came up with a recipe on the fly, and they turned out great! Be on the lookout for the recipe coming your way later this week.

2013-03-31 15.09.07

 

That’s it for now! I am heading into my final weeks of marathon training, which is definitely wearing on me (and my body). I keep telling myself I only need to hold my body together for 34 more days, and once I cross that finish line of my 26.2, I can take a much-needed break. Here’s to hoping I make it that long!

Side note: Last week, I had the opportunity to post on My Food n Fitness Diaries, the fabulous blog written by Miss Ashley. Ashley gave birth to her son Hunter last weekend, but he is currently in the NICU. Even in this difficult time, Ashley and her husband are holding on to their faith, and it’s amazing to see how they’re lifting little Hunter up to God! Say a prayer for them this week and ask for God to heal Hunter completely.

One thought on “An unconventional Easter

Leave a Reply

