Is it taper time yet?

Standard

It’s Wednesday, which means it’s What I Ate Wednesday time! I’m going to review my eats after sharing some personal stuff about my marathon training. No interest in listening to my running woes? Scroll on down — I won’t take offense! 🙂

It’s been a tough week so far. With only four and a half weeks until my marathon, I still have a good amount of training amount and I’m starting to feel worn down. Is it taper time yet?

To this point, I’ve followed my training plan to a T. I may have missed one or two cross-training workouts, but I haven’t missed any of my two mid-distance or long runs each week. I’m consistently training six days per week and taking one full rest day. I’ve been doing tempos, hills, speed workouts, and “easy” runs. I’ve been hydrating and eating right.

So, you can only imagine my disappointment when I had a quad muscle strain and the dreaded runner’s “black toenail” make an appearance this week. (I will spare you the details, but I can tell you that it hurts — a lot. Not as much as the Kevin Ware leg break, but still  quite alot.)

I pushed through six miles on Monday but was in a decent amount of pain for the first mile and a half. My toe felt better yesterday, but the quad is still really, really tight. So, what now?

Everyone says trust your training. The problem is I still have two solid weeks of training left (a 20 miler this week, and a 22 miler next week) before I can think about tapering and really holding on to that mantra. What to do, what to do?

The truth is — I’m really tired. I’m still excited about my marathon, but right now, I’m just tired. So the game plan for the rest of the week is to scratch all of my workouts (a hilly six-mile and two cross-training workouts) and instead focus on recovering and preparing for my 20 miler on Saturday. I’m going to try to attend a yoga class tonight (just to help with some stretching and soreness), but besides that — it’s nothing but rest.

It’s tough. I love being active, but right now, I can trust my training enough to know that three days off will do me so much better than another six mile run or circuit workout.

With that said, it’s WIAW time!

WIAW4.2_collage

Breakfast (Top right): 1/2 c. oats, 1/2 Tbsp. chia seeds, unsweetened vanilla almond milk, 1/4 c. blueberries, and natural peanut butter

Morning snack (2nd from top): Banana

Lunch (left): Chicken & Bean Crockpot Chili served over top 1/5 c. quinoa + romaine lettuce and baby carrots on side

Afternoon snack (3rd from top): 3 oz. blood orange CHO + 3 oz. plain 0% CHO + oats and puffed wheat on top

Dinner (bottom): Two slices of almond flour pizza crust + balsamic roasted asparagus

For my nighttime snack, I threw a few things together and created this masterpiece!

Single serve apple crisp

 

  • 1 small honeycrisp apple, chopped 
  • 2 1/2 Tbsp. oats
  • 1/4 c. milk
  • A few shakes cinnamon
  • Optional: Nut butter + flax seed
  1. In a small bowl, combine apple, oats, milk, and cinnamon. Microwave for one minute. 
  2. If desired, top with nut butter (I used cashew butter) and flax seed. Enjoy!

How to level up this recipe:

  • For added protein and fiber, add in 1 Tbsp. ground flax.

How to level down this recipe:

  • If you prefer more sweetness, add in 1 Tbsp. sweetener (agave, maple syrup, honey, Stevia, brown sugar, etc.) 
10 thoughts on “Is it taper time yet?

  1. livinglearningeating

    The applecrisp looks delicious, I might need to try that tonight! I have ice cream in the freezer and I bet it would be great a la mode 🙂

Leave a Reply

