What am I going to do?

Standard

With only 14 days left until my marathon, all I can think is #TGIAH. (That’s Thank God It’s Almost Here!)

Photo courtesy of Google Images.

Photo courtesy of Google Images.

Here’s why I’m ready for my 26.2 to be over:

  1. My body hates me a little bit. And by a little bit, I mean alotta bit. 
  2. I want to be done “taking care of my feet.” I won’t go into any details, but my fellow runners understand this one. After a long run, it takes me a good twenty minutes to clean, soak, pop, and bandage things as needed on my feet. This doesn’t include the ten minutes it takes me to wrap and bandage them before my run…
  3. I want a pedicure. (I think I’ll still have to wait a few weeks on this one for the sake of whoever gets the job of trying to make my toes look socially acceptable.)
  4. I want to wear sandals without having to bandage a few of my toes. (Okay, feet reasons over!)
  5. I’m tired of saying “It’s okay, I’m running a marathon” when I reach for an extra handful of nuts or scoop of peanut butter.
  6. I’m ready to say goodbye to my “marathon belly.” If you’re trying to lose weight, running a marathon is not the best move. You’re always hungry and even when you’re not, you’re eating to prepare for your next run.
  7. I’m excited to go to bed whenever I want on Friday night and not have to worry about waking up early to get my pre-run fuel and run in.

Here’s why I’m not:

  1. I’m not sure what I’ll do when my thoughts don’t revolve around nutrition, paces, splits, pre-run fuel, etc. 
  2. I’m no longer going to be able to justify my out-of-control eating habits with “It’s okay, I’m running a marathon.”
  3. This has been one of the most challenging, emotional experiences of my life. In the end, I loved every single second.

Pittsburgh, here I come!

2 thoughts on “What am I going to do?

Leave a Reply

