Green oatmeal

Standard

I know what you’re thinking — green oatmeal? Yuck! 

Last weekend when I was home visiting my family for the Fourth, my dad was quite generous with sharing the vegetables from his garden. It just so happened that he gave me zucchini. Like, a lot of it. And by a lot I mean approximately five huge, green zucchini. 

I had to get pretty creative since I’m the only one who eats zucchini in my family of two! After shredding and freezing some of it, I whipped up a roasted vegetable zucchini quinoa and almond flour banana zucchini bread…and still had some zucchini left. What to do, what to do? 

Throw it in some oatmeal! 

Zucchini Bread Oatmeal

 

I’m serious when I say this stuff tastes like zucchini bread, fresh out of the oven, and it is delicious. I made mine in a round Corningware dish and had enough for six whole servings! 

Baked Zucchini Bread Oatmeal
Serves
6

  • 3 c. oats 
  • 2 tsp. baking powder
  • 1/2 tsp. salt
  • 3/4 tsp. cinnamon
  • 1/3 c. agave (or honey) 
  • 1/2 c. unsweetened applesauce
  • 1 c. milk (I used unsweetened vanilla almond milk) 
  • 1 tsp. vanilla
  • 1 egg
  • 1 1/2 c. zucchini 
  • 1 small apple, chopped 
  1. In a large bowl, mix together dry ingredients (oats, baking powder, salt, cinnamon). 
  2. Next, add 1/3 c. agave, 1/2 c. unsweetened applesauce, 1 c. milk, 1 tsp. vanilla, and egg. Stir until well blended.
  3. Mix in zucchini and chopped apple. 
  4. Pour into a greased baking dish. (I used a 9-inch round Corningware dish but 8 x 8 dish would work as well.) 
  5. Bake at 350 for about 35-40 minutes or until toothpick comes out smooth. 
  6. After it’s finished, top with desired toppings! (I used flaxseed, hemp seed, and peanut butter. Walnuts or raisins would be great also!) 

How to level up this recipe:

  • Use 1/2 c. ground flaxseed to the dry ingredients to pump up the fiber and protein count.

How to level down this recipe:

  • For added sweetness, use 1/3 c. brown sugar instead of agave. 

How do you use all that extra zucchini in your garden? 

One thought on “Green oatmeal

Leave a comment